Colorado Medical Marijuana law related to medical marijuana currently states that if you are 21 years and older it is legal for one to buy, possess or use retail marijuana sold in Colorado. In 2000, 54 percent of the citizens of Colorado voted to pass Ballot Amendment 20 allowing legal possession up to 2 ounces and 6 plants classified as 3 mature and 3 immature plants. Years later, in November 2012, Colorado Amendment 64 was passed. This allows an adult 21 or older to do go into a place of business aka a dispensary and purchase marijuana. A medical license is not needed. The individual is not allowed to take it out of state and it is also prohibited at DIA (Denver International Airport). Since 64 was passed, Governor Hickenlooper passed multiple bills to enhance regulations. Colorado is continuing to enhance the rules and laws related to the legalization of marijuana and medical marijuana.